Overnighter in some Kentish woods

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Barney Rubble

Settler
Sep 16, 2013
Rochester, Kent
youtube.com
"You must be mad" is a polite way of describing what my wife said to me as I announced I was going camping for a night in the middle of january. "No babe, I dont think so" I said, "give me a cold january camp over celebrity big brother any day of the week!" And off I went with some mates for a cold overnighter in our local woods on the north kent downs.

I will admit to being slightly nervous as I am a novice bushcrafter embarking on my first winter camp but alas, I had good company and ended up pleasantly surprised at how comfortable you can be in the woods when you have the right kit and know how (and several layers of clothing!!)

I think the highlight for us was the sight of a pair of buzzards flying past just above us and the tree canopy. I dont think I've ever seen buzzards flying wild in this part of kent.

As for our shelter, I had a comfortable nights sleep in my hi-gear soloista tent and budget 4 season bag from another high st outdoor 'warehouse' store. Yes its a cheapo tent but has performed admirably in two camps where the conditions have been far from ideal. Maybe when it gives up the ghost I'll upgrade to a better quality tent or contemplate hammocking. There was a slight gradient which meant I slid down the tent a little bit but not too bad, will probably pitch the tent differently next time (am open to some advice on pitching a tent on a slight slope)

20150117_132705_zpsc74c5382.jpg~320x480

My fellow camper (also of this parish) on the other hand was the king of the swingers in his hennesey hammock and tarp, he also used his new edc hammock to great effect by storing his kit beneath the main hammock.

IMG_1848_zpse39e2f41.jpg~320x480