over nighting - help I need some advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Andy W

Forager
Nov 22, 2010
Perthshire Scotland
Hi All,

I need a bit of advice, I am very new to bush crafting and I know I will eventually want to spend a night or two out and about. Here lies my problems and my need for advice.

Firstly I am a bit of a big chap, not tall but carrying some extra weight. I have read many posts and see many of you use tarps and hammocks - I am having some doubts about my suitability for this type of camping, i.e. is the hammock going to be strong enough. Will I be comfortable/warm enough/not fall out.

Secondly I like my comforts - I like a nice warm place to sleep with a sleeping bag, so I thought I may be better off with a tent, mat and sleeping bag set up.

Thirdly I don't have a massive amount of money to spend, a mate of mine has got back from Afghanistan and has very kindly given me a desert tarp which seems water proof. I also have a mat in the loft from my days in the RAF, I was thinking I could get a cheap tent and go from there - replacing kit as I got more experienced etc.

If any one has some thoughts I would appreciate any advice.

addo

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 8, 2006
Derbyshire
No shame in a tent and a tarp, sounds like luxury to me.
If you stay on the ground (which I prefer) try out a borrowed bivi bag with your sleeping bag (Snugpack types are warm and reasonable money if thinking of buying one) and mat/tarp and see how you go, and ditch the tent then if wanting to lighten the load.

Theres many threads out there about all the various bits of kit, as long as your warm dry and comfy, you should enjoy yourself :)

lostplanet

Aug 18, 2005
Kent