Oak Leaf Wine

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
Going to have a go at making Oak Leaf Wine(stuff)

I have access to an Oak Tree on my land.
I have Demijohns and Airlocks.
I have NO brewing experience.

Gimme an idiot proof recipe please.

What else is worth brewing at this time of Year? I have many Demijohns.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
No idea, but watching with interest :)

While I mind, I like Brewbitz' videos on YouTube. He/they make stuff from very much home grown as well as grains, etc., blackcurrant rum, elderflower fizz, runner bean wine, parsnip wine, as well as decent beers, that kind of thing.
I can find the link ?

M

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
No idea, but watching with interest :)

While I mind, I like Brewbitz' videos on YouTube. He/they make stuff from very much home grown as well as grains, etc., blackcurrant rum, elderflower fizz, runner bean wine, parsnip wine, as well as decent beers, that kind of thing.
I can find the link ?

M

This one?

bobnewboy

Native
Jul 2, 2014
West Somerset
I would have said beech leaf/bud noyau, but I think that someone already mentioned that in another thread. That’s not really brewing as such but making a tincture. Ideally you should make wine out of whatever you have in glut, e.g lifting the last of last year’s parsnips, maybe dandelions etc etc.
I’ve started some blackberry wine (1gallon) using fruit from the freezer, and we still have some goosegogs in the freezer that might not make it into pies....just saying :)

Reactions: TeeDee

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
make an Autumn oak leaf wine, but I don't think they make one from Spring leaves. The leaves are pretty much just a flavouring as far as I know.

M

Muddypaws

Jan 23, 2009
Southampton