Not bush craft, but...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

weaver

Settler
Jul 9, 2006
North Carolina, USA
leon-b and Shinken both asked about antler for a pen and how it would look so I thought others may want to see.

Mathes_051.jpg

I did NOT make this, another chap in our wood work club did it. I want to try my hand at it soon.

scottishwolf

Settler
Oct 22, 2006
Ayr
Stunning!! i'm jealous. Although I am just learning, I try to do my best at natural crafts. I'm not very good but I suppose practise makes perfect. Watch this space....p.s., I'll prob have tons of fire steel handles, tinder pouches, key rings, etc soon. Just practice pieces but they will be free to whoever wants or more importantly...needs them. Pics will be posted when I have a few ready. :D

Klenchblaize

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 25, 2005
Greensand Ridge
weaver said:
leon-b and Shinken both asked about antler for a pen and how it would look so I thought others may want to see.

Mathes_051.jpg

I did NOT make this, another chap in our wood work club did it. I want to try my hand at it soon.

Hi

On a seriuouse point do you know if your friend turned this on a small lath or simply reduced and profiled by hand? The hollowing out must have been tricky too!

If he a wants to make a few more to sell I would most certainly place an order for one.

Thanks

Cheers

Klench

weaver

Settler
Jul 9, 2006
North Carolina, USA
Yes, he turned it on a small lathe, there is no hollowing out. (just re-read and realized that hollowing refers to drilling the core for the pen to go through. Yes very tricky!) That "bark" is the natural texture of American White Tail Deer.

These are HIS COMMENTS: