New to all this (Give me some recipes)

RedAndPeane

Jul 17, 2009
Brighton!
Well I'm new to this whole business of foraging for food, so I need some tips.

How can I tell what is good to eat (Apart from extensive research) Are there any defining features of plants I should NOT eat?

What is the best way to harvest plants? What parts can I take?

How do I cook them? What is the best way?

And finally can anyone give me some recipes to try using just foraged plants. I'm looking for tasty nutritious recipes that could be easily made at home or in the wild :)

Peace
Akai-Chan

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
Well I'm new to this whole business of foraging for food, so I need some tips.

How can I tell what is good to eat (Apart from extensive research) Are there any defining features of plants I should NOT eat?

What is the best way to harvest plants? What parts can I take?

How do I cook them? What is the best way?

And finally can anyone give me some recipes to try using just foraged plants. I'm looking for tasty nutritious recipes that could be easily made at home or in the wild :)

Peace
Akai-Chan

Welcome aboard!

Unfortunately, you have answered your own question right away. The only way is extensive research, finding out what is in your area and what you can eat and how to prepare it is the only way to get on with wild foods. You wouldn't eat a random mushroom without checking it isn't highly toxic first, would you? There are some highly toxic plants out there too, Hemlock water dropwort being considered to be possibly the most poisonous plant in Europe and on of many other poisonous plants! No point taking a risk for a bit of free food, but it's best to go out with somebody who knows what they are doing, you'll learn so much more that way.

Iona

Nomad
Mar 11, 2009
Ashdown Forest
I'd start by getting a good book. I like Roger Phillips, but there are lots of others, I believe the Richard Mabey one is very popular.