My first attempts at some leather sheaths

Gill

Jun 29, 2004
SCOTLAND
I have been wanting to try this for a while , i got the leather scraps from a wee leather shop on Arran a while back . I made all these over last weekend again made some mistakes but i had limited tools the stitching will be better next time i think i will use a pricking iron , i,m told it is a better job.Anyway like all the other skills on this forum i really enjoyed this and cant wait to get some leather and more tools for another go,could anybody tell me what is the best laether for sheaths and the like i have been on leprevo and there are too many choices :dunno: any advice appreciated.
Picture2421.jpg

elma

Sep 22, 2005
Ynysddu south wales
excellent work gill
I'm not a leather expert but for leather you should use veg tanned shoulder in 3 or 4 mm, to mark your stiches use a set of deviders set at 3 to 5mm, an overstitch wheel will also do this and you can use it to clean up your stitching, tandy uk has a weath of knowledge in tutorials and can also supply tools and books etc
leatherworking is like knifemaking its addictive and once it takes hold it will not let go

good luck

Ian

Gill

Jun 29, 2004
SCOTLAND
excellent work gill
I'm not a leather expert but for leather you should use veg tanned shoulder in 3 or 4 mm, to mark your stiches use a set of deviders set at 3 to 5mm, an overstitch wheel will also do this and you can use it to clean up your stitching, tandy uk has a weath of knowledge in tutorials and can also supply tools and books etc
leatherworking is like knifemaking its addictive and once it takes hold it will not let go

good luck

Ian

Whats deviders Ian ?

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
I've seen them in the flesh and they're cracking.

The first one is a real thicky for a real thick knife.

Nice work neebs.

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire