Mushroom Fungi ID ?

Scots_Charles_River

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 12, 2006
paddling a loch
www.flickr.com
Anyone know what this is ?

showthread.php

mason

Jul 25, 2007
Nottinghamshire
Sorry for tagging on to this one, I didn’t want to create more mushroom threads than there already are. Anyone know what this one is. The sack on top ejected the spores when pressed.

http://upload.pbase.com/image/87208973

Also I've not got a pic but apart from the puff ball are there any other spherical mushrooms.

I’m just starting out so I’m reading the few ID books I have and seeing what they look like in real life, which leads me onto my next point. Is it a good idea to touch mushrooms if you don’t know what they are? I’ve read that you normally need to eat ¼ of a teaspoon for poisonous mushrooms to harm you, how true is this? Also are the spores poisonous?

Cheers

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
Some sort of earth star or similar. I've never seen one before. As for puffballs, there are many differing varieties, but watch out for witches eggs and earth balls, which aren't puffballs.

xylaria

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
for tagging on to this one, I didn’t want to create more mushroom threads than there already are. Anyone know what this one is. The sack on top ejected the spores when pressed.

http://upload.pbase.com/image/87208973

Also I've not got a pic but apart from the puff ball are there any other spherical mushrooms.

I’m just starting out so I’m reading the few ID books I have and seeing what they look like in real life, which leads me onto my next point. Is it a good idea to touch mushrooms if you don’t know what they are? I’ve read that you normally need to eat ¼ of a teaspoon for poisonous mushrooms to harm you, how true is this? Also are the spores poisonous?

Cheers

YOU SCARE ME.

You can touch any fungi
You can sniff any fungi
breathing in large amounts of any small particle powder is not very good for you.