monday morning wonder

monkey boy

Jan 13, 2009
london
so this morning I spent a couple of hours in epsom common admiring the weather and bird songs.
I find it much better to have a plan befor I go out, that way when I pack my day pack I am only taking the things a may need for my objectives.
Now im still new to I.D,ing plants and tree, so my aim today was to choose a tree and go and look for it. now its getting near for the birch sap to flow for this year, so I wanted to make sure that I am familier with the different types of birch theres is, unfortunatly I only managed to find the silver birch but I did manage to spot it living, dead, young and dead standing, also I was reading about the diffent features and looking out for it for myself. even though I could id the silver birch befor today I still feel I have learnt more about the tree ie how very similar it is to the downing birch and I wonder if I have been calling them silver birches  My other objectives was to see if the sap was ready, but all the birches I stabbed were dry.
I also wanted to watch a few birds (no not lady's, I will wait until im at a beech in the summer for that) I manage to see some parakeets, well i think thats what they are, i also got a glimps at a wood pecker (the noisy things) not sure on what type it was though. my last plan was to make a brew .

so this is what i carried
5284d4de-70e9-f7c4.jpg

tree book, optics, lighter to light my stove, crusader kit with brew, ferro rod incase I find tinder that iv never tried befor, folding saw so I can bring a peice of wood home for calving and my little opinle 9, I didnt see the point in carrying my A wright or mora for what I was planning to do today.

5284d53c-727f-7e00.jpg