Kydex assistance please.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
Hi All and Happy new year :)

I have decided to give Kydex a go with the aim of making a few leather/Kydex hybrid setups. I have done the usual and watched a few Youtube Video`s so obviously I am now an expert on all things Kydex :happy:

Whilst I get the basic principals what I am after is a assistance with sourcing the bits and bobs to get me going. So links preferably Amazon for ease to both the kydex sheet (no idea what thickness I need), the thick foam to use in the mould (way to many to chose from) and also the eyelets/associated crimping device.

Leatherwork side I am all good.

Thanks in advance,

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
Sorry. I bought nearly all my bits from Knifekits.com in the US. The foam needs to be heat resistant (I don't care what anyone else claims, blue kip mat foam is almost worthless). I see it as time vs money, and I value my time more. By buying from a source that is dedicated to knife supply (and Knifekits are arguably the best), time is saved on figuring out what will work.

I don't know if they have any annoying objections to UK shipping now, but I would not expect so since it will be easy to rack up more than £135 on parts and materials.

While you can make small things and kydex sheaths with a single piece of foam, cut into two halves, I would recommend getting two squares.