Kuksa

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Northwolf

Jul 21, 2022
Banchory - Scozia
Hello everyone!
I'm new to this forum so happy to start being part of this community.
Recently I started carving kuksas and sometimes I have problems with cracks.
The last one I made it out of a dry nice piece of beech. Dry wood is the only I have available at the moment. It worked very nice and smoothly. After finisihing it, I left it in a plastic bag for a few days. It looked completely dry and very solid. So I put beeswax. Then I wanted to start filling it with liquid and so I poured a bit of cold water. After 3 or 4 minutes the kuksa cracked on the outside with a main long horizontal crack and other cracks... it was unexpected and felt very sad. I'm not that experienced in kuksas and I tried to read and watch whatever I could but have not found an explanation for this. Can anyone help?
Thank you

Dec 10, 2015
South Wales
Try using walnut oil before adding any liquids. A good few soakings so it’s all in there. Think of wood like little straws. The oil will fill these straws and prevent the water from getting in and expanding and shrinking the wood.

Northwolf

Jul 21, 2022
Banchory - Scozia
Try using walnut oil before adding any liquids. A good few soakings so it’s all in there. Think of wood like little straws. The oil will fill these straws and prevent the water from getting in and expanding and shrinking the wood.
Thank you very much for this advice. I just bought mineral oil. Is walnut oil very different?

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
Welcome. After 20+ years, I'm a novice wood and stone carver.

Kuksa are carved from birch burls for a reason. The twisted grain is so tightly interwoven that the piece is knitted together and can't crack.