Knife Sheath Project

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tank

Aug 10, 2009
Witney, Oxfordshire
Looks like I have caught the leather craft bug, this is now my thrid project. This is the first knife sheath I have made and I have to say I am quiet happy with how it turned out, there are a few mistakes but I am still learning as I go.

Over all it turned out OK and the knife fits wells and is held in with friction.
SheathBuild16.jpg

The belt loop went a bit wonky when I clamped it down but not too bad.
SheathBuild17.jpg

One mistake I made was when I got 3/4 of the way though stitching up the side when I realised my thread was never going to make it to the end.
SheathBuild14.jpg

SheathBuild15.jpg

If you interested the below is a little slide show of the build as I went along.

[video=youtube;O4exvws5INc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4exvws5INc[/video]

Any idea on getting a professional finish would be greatly appreciated.

I am not really in love with the dark colour of the dye, dark chocolate appears more black to me so I will be remaking the sheath with what I have learn and hopefully improve on what I managed this time.

DaveBromley

May 17, 2010
Manchester, England
Great work there mate!, very nice level of finish. If you are wanting to play about with different colours i would highly recommend getting an airbrush, tiny little compressor and airbrush gun are about £50 from the bay of evil, but allow you to do some really cool stuff. I never regretted getting mine put it that way.

Love the slide show too, maybe a tutorial video of the next one?

Dave

Tank

Aug 10, 2009
Witney, Oxfordshire
Thanks for all the comment.