How to carve a spoon?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Aliwren

Nomad
Jan 2, 2006
Bedford
Hi all, if this has been covered please point me in the right direction otherwise I notice alot of carved spoons on the web site. As a novice I wonder if this would be a good starter project to tackle, but not sure where to start. Is a particular type of wood recommended, do you dry it first? what tools are generally required and used, is the spoon treated before use? sorry if these appear very basic questions. Any advice welcome :)

Marts

Native
May 5, 2005
London
Hi Aliwren.

You're right - carving a spoon is a great first project. It gets you working more confidentaly with a knife and gets you used to the different textures and working methods of different types of wood. It can also help with your tree ID and it's essential for getting the last beans out of the tin ;)

There is absolutely tons of stuff on the forum - try typing carving or similar in the search function and then sit back and read for a few hours.

Paganwolf did a good tutorial a while back that will get you started. Remember a sharp knife is a safe knife!

Paganwolf's spoon tutorial

Try starting with Birch or lime rather than hard woods like oak. You will also find a spoon knife really helpful for gouging out the bowl shape. Axminster do a very cheap one www.axminster.co.uk
:)

pierre girard

Need to contact Admin...
Dec 28, 2005
Hunter Lake, MN USA
Aliwren said: