Help me find my perfect AXE

Stirling3749

Jan 30, 2011
BC, Canada
I'm looking closely into axes now and searching for what will be my standard for backpacking/kayaking trips, hopefully until the day I die.
I'm no axe expert but I've swung a few and I'm pretty sure I have it down to a fairly specific picture.

1 1/2lb-2lb head
18"-24" handle
And as for the shape of the head I'd really like to have something geared toward splitting but not an all out splitting axe, maybe something along the lines of a Small forest axe but with a slightly fatter and more streamlined head that can still hack and carve.
Also I'd like to be able to split hardwood without worrying about damaging the edge so a pretty hard steel is desired.

I know I'm asking allot of the axe here but surely someone somewhere in the world makes an axe that can do at least most these things and preferably not cost an arm and a leg.
I have access to some machines like auto sanders and a grinding wheel and such but I've never worked on an axe before and so if I'm going to put some cash into a quality tool I'd rather do as little touching up on it as possible.

So what would you folks suggest?

Stirling3749

Jan 30, 2011
BC, Canada
A double bit axe, one side sharpened for splitting and the other for carving, hacking

I've thought about going down the double bit road.
The loss of the poll isn't all that much of a setback in my case, I use a fair sized knife and baton for all my small wood splitting and as for the hammer feature I'd settle for a rock.
In my searching I haven't really found a suitable product though, double bits seem to be pretty uncommon and going custom would probably cost more than what I'm willing to shell out.
So yeah If I can find a good double bit that meets my needs I'd definitely be open to that.

Tadpole

Nov 12, 2005
Bristol
I've thought about going down the double bit road.