Heating Engineers - Heat Pumps

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
Can any heating engineers here give me the low down on what I think is called ' Heat Pumps ' as a possible heat source for the UK environment.

Are they gaining ground here? are they efficient / or false economy? Who are the UK market leaders.

My basic understanding is that they take outside ambient air and heat it into the house via the difference , is that correct.

Nov 29, 2004
Scotland
That'll be an air source heat pump...

http://www.nibe.co.uk/Home-Owner/NIBE-Heat-Pumps/air-source-heat-pumps/

I have just finished work on a project that made use of a Nibe ground source heat pump, their site is full of useful information, lots of downloadable manuals etc.

It can be very expensive to buy and instal but the claim is that it'll pay for itself in the long run.

:)

Edited to add:

I am not a heating engineer, I'm the one who makes the heating system and all the other electrical services work together.

Last edited:

mrcharly

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 25, 2011
North Yorkshire, UK
An air-source heat pump is also known as a reverse cycle air conditioner. Not very economical to run. Not really much different to a refrigerator, really.

Ground source heatpumps are becoming more common, but you need a fair bit of ground for them to work, and a long trench must be dug.

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
An air-source heat pump is also known as a reverse cycle air conditioner. Not very economical to run. Not really much different to a refrigerator, really.

A bit of a white elephant then?

Ground source heatpumps are becoming more common, but you need a fair bit of ground for them to work, and a long trench must be dug.

Are these efficient then?

mrcharly

Jan 25, 2011
North Yorkshire, UK