GoPro advice please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Phil B

Settler
Jan 28, 2006
Beverley, Yorkshire.
I think my wife would love one of these and her birthday is in Feb.

Anyone here that can decode all the model specs to human speak and perhaps advise on the best model?

She'd be using it for general outdoors fun, motorcycle helmet cam, possibly dashcam, plus may use as underwater camera (assuming a housing is required.

Advice on the screen would be handy. Are the newer models better?
What size card to buy?? Any connectivity advice (Laptop and iPad here)?

It's a nightmare for me, I'm a Mechanical Engineer.

All help gratefully received.

garethw

Settler
Hi there
I've got the Gopro Hero 3 but I'd go for the Hero 4 with the screen on the back. The latest Hero 5 is much dearer... They come with a waterproof housing for swimming and keeping the dust out for action stuff. A 16gb card should be ample, you'll get an hour plus of HD... You can film up to 4K &and use modes like Protune to get more editable images...

It depends how you want to use it. I find Adobe Premiere can edit it fine, upto 2.7k but my PC is not fast enough for 4K. A simple USB connection to download the sequences is all you need.
For me it is just an extra angle type camera, I can stick anywhere to get an interesting angle. It in no way replaces a proper camera, as you have no control over anything. The image quality for such a small piece of kit is very good, and most of my films have a few GoPro sequences.

You can get kits of fixing accessories on Amazon, with suction cups, body harnesses, stick on mounts, head mounts etc.. all for only 30 odd quid. The original Gopro stuff is much dearer, and I can't see any difference in it except the logo.