Fishing with a pen rod - complete beginner.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

unijaw

Tenderfoot
Jan 11, 2013
Trowbridge,Wiltshire
Hey folks I'm purchasing a cheap lightweight pen fishing rod this is what I'm going to purchase.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mini-Tele...ds_Fishing_FishingRods_EH&hash=item565542fb0c

What would I need to make this complete? A hook a lure a weight?
I have no knowledge on fishing but I want to purchase a cheap one to take while backpacking along the canals. This is in the UK.
If you could just advise me on what I need to complete a bare-bones fishing set. I assume people will comment on the price and quality of the product but let me stress that I'm only interested in whipping out the rod set when I'm camped near the canal near the end of the day or early in the morning.
Thanks.

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
The picture shows a reel but there's not one anywhere in the description. At that price I expect you'll have to buy a reel and line separately.

santaman2000

Jan 15, 2011
Florida
I guess I didn't read down far enough. Never fished for carp (they're a trash fish here) but yeah, you'll need a bit of tackle and bait. Someone more knowledgeable about carp fishing should be along soon to help you with what's specific to carp.

nitrambur

Settler
Jan 14, 2010
Nottingham
1a. Lure, and bite proof trace
or
1b. Float, hooks, weights, bait
and
2. rod licence,
3. day ticket for the stretch you intend to fish ;)

don't get many carp in canals as far as I recall, you'll more likely be fishing for roach or perch, float for the former, lure or float for the latter

Last edited:

unijaw

Tenderfoot
Jan 11, 2013
Trowbridge,Wiltshire