Fishing Advice

mace242

Native
Aug 17, 2006
Yeovil, Somerset, UK
Me and SWMBO are about to start with some fishing to see if we like it. She's interested in beach casting and I'm interested in coarse fishing. Though we'll take turns one out one then swap over.

Any of the rest of you fish? If so can you direct me to some cheap setups / starter kits that would be of use, and perhaps some books suitable for starters. Any recomendations for forums like BCUK that would be good for advice too would be great too.

Thanks

Tim.

naylor b

Jun 30, 2007
uk
Hi
I fish and really enjoy it.
Although, i am no pro angler. When i was started fishing i went to my local angling shop and asked for advice. I like you, was looking for a rod i could use for different things course/sea fishing. In the end i bought a 8ft spin rod, reel and the shop keeper through in some float, hooks, and lots of other bits and bobs i needed for around £50. It was a great deal and i am still useing them today (well there only a year or two old =D!)
So id try your angling local shop because there real helpful.
hope this helps
naylor

Sickboy

Nomad
Sep 12, 2005
London
The best fishing website imho is www.fishingmagic.com , covers all sort's of fishing and the forum's coughed up all the help i've needed.
If your fishing for food then sea fishings going to be better for your need's as most course fishing will be catch and release.
I've been seriously considering starting flyfishing, can't stand sitting about doing sod all an the bank/beach, hence lure fishing has been my thing for a few years now but in the uk your really not going to catch anything edible, so fluff chucking maybe the way forward for me:rolleyes:

queeg9000

Forager
Apr 24, 2006
Caldicot, South Wales
Hello Tim,

I fish a fair bit too, mainly beachcasting and spinning around various spots.

If you're after bargain fishing gear, this place is worth a look, and the Shakespeare stuff is very good kit. http://www.jims.org.uk/