first aid on a distressed dog?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

johnnythefox

Mar 11, 2011
England
i am not an expert,what would you have done?

when this greyhound went past me i could see she was distressed.
didn't stop panting for over half an hour,head down,tail down.
got to the end of the path and kept looking left and right then flopped down in the shade.

i tried speaking softly and offered water [used a plastic bag in a rabbit hole].
but she wouldn't take it. stood up and was shaking all over so i got her to sit down and stroked her gentle till some one else came along and went to find the owner who was also in a panic apparently looking for her.

took my belt of and used as a lead [case she ran of] then just kept trying to reassure her.but it didn't work i have never seen a dog so much in distress.

i phoned the petsafe [i think]? no on the tag and it said no changed and rattled of a new one.
i had no chance of remembering it and ended with check the website?
what muppet is behind that scheme?

owners turned up and seemed clueless,i recommend getting the dog checked over.

JC3_5390.jpg

JC3_5380.jpg

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
Wet blanket/cover over the overheated dog.

Dish of cold water near its mouth for when it wants it and for a cooler breath near the mouth.

Owners to be polite = dafties.

Robbi

Mar 1, 2009
northern ireland
poor pup, lost it's owner and panicked, water was the best bet when it'd calmed down then maybe some chocolate, that is good for shock in dogs and gets energy levels back up a bit.

hope it's OK

nitrambur

Settler
Jan 14, 2010
Nottingham
poor pup, lost it's owner and panicked, water was the best bet when it'd calmed down then maybe some chocolate, that is good for shock in dogs and gets energy levels back up a bit.

hope it's OK