Finnish lapland 12/2009

PRKL

Nomad
Jan 27, 2010
Finland
Heres a few pics from a trip i did at December 2009 just before x-mas.We were there for over week in fell´s,learning some sami folklore and skills,and best of all,we were invited to work in reindeer roundup which is very very rare occasion,to happen for men that are not native sami people.Loads of ski ´in,sleeping in snow fox holes,in tent too,reindeer soup,ice fishing,snares,and the most,making firewood all the way from falling the birch,to bringin em to campsite with sled,to sawing and chopping those.Also,once again i studied making fire from fresh,frozen birch and such.One of the best trips ive done in winter lapland.Ask for more details if someone has somethin to ask.

ansatjemmassa.jpg

Snares hiding in the bush.

homesweethome.jpg

My bunk,meaning US Military genuine,issue modular sleeping bag with goretex bivy sack,plus Savotta´s Finnish military sleeping mattress.It was cosy nest,that old army tent with wood stove and birch twig floor,laid under space blanket.

jamienkkiss.jpg

Super time while others were sleeping and i was keeping the stove going.Cant really complain at all,i had spicy noodles that i mixed with dried chicked breast cubes and drank a cup of coffee,after thati had served my hours watch,and went to sleep after i woke up the next buddy to keep the fire on.

keitto.jpg

This reindeer walked about one hour before this photo was taken.And it was good soup indeed.

paussi.jpg

Thirty kilometers of this took a bit of effort,as it was uphill ALL the way when going to reindeer round-up camp.Returning was easy as it was downhills all the way,how surprising.

leiri1.jpg

Shot of our camp,i think i took this from poo place:lmao:

notskia1-1.jpg