Fields of gold in the black country

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

richardhomer

Settler
Aug 23, 2012
STOURBRIDGE
My first out and about report,
As the school holidays are coming to a close my wife has this week off work. I work in a school so I have been lucky enough to have the whole six weeks off with the children. Yesterday afternoon the weather looked quite good so we decided to take the girls out for walk over some local fields, These fields are about a 5 min walk away from where we live. As we set out I had not decided too do this report. If I had then there would have been more and better photos.

DSCF0480.jpg
DSCF0481.jpg DSCF0481.jpg DSCF0483.jpgDSCF0484.jpg

The history of area that these fields are located are
can be read about here. http://www.cradleylinks.co.uk/oldnall.htm

The history of these fields and others locally goes all the way back to the stone age .
Situated on a high ridge, overlooking the Upper Stour Valley, this site was occupied very early on in the history of humanity. Relatively few Mesolithic sites have been identified in England,but nearly 6000 struck pieces of flint from the Middle Stone Age (between 8000 and 6000 years ago) have been found here. It is likely that this was a summer camp, established by a group of no more than 30 nomadic hunter-gatherers, who followed the seasonal migration of elk, deer and cattle from the lowlands to upland summer pastures.