Fibreglass kayak repair advice please

Harvestman

Bushcrafter through and through
May 11, 2007
Pontypool, Wales, Uk
Hi guys & gals. I recently picked up a nice fibreglass kayak from a guy via freecycle. He said it needed a bit of work after a few scrapes, but I thought it was cheap at the price. ;)

Anyway, on examination, the fibreglass is cracked in 4 places, only one of which is at all significant (i.e the shell bends if you press on it), but none are large, and there are no holes.

Purely as a test, I put some wide sticky tape over those areas, and took it for a quick spin on the canal near me.

Spin was the word, since I'm a novice kayak-ist (?) and it handled like a shopping trolley (mainly due to the inept pilot), but it was fun and it didn't leak. I defintely want to get out in it again.

So, I need to patch it up with a bit more than tape, so can anyone advise me on the best thing to use please? There seem to be a lot of good waterproof adhesives around that would probably do the job, and applying extra fibreglass seems overkill for such minor damage.

Any recommendations?

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
I'm pretty sure you can buy fibreglass repair tape fairly cheap or maybe some kind of resin would do it.

I repaired a similar freebie whilst on holiday in Sweden last year. Just used appropriate 2 part epoxy filler. I just had "thin" patches though, no actual cracks. I'm no expert, but maybe you should layer on some fiberglass?
Have you searched or posted on SOTP (Song of the paddle?)

Loenja

Settler
Apr 27, 2008
forest row
two approaches:
the quick easy one thin some epoxy down and glue the fibres together again. simply apply like glue or varnish.
or sand it down a bit to remove some glass then strengthen as above and let it set. then apply glas cloth or mat and soak in epoxy. then set.
this should doo the trick unless its in a prominent position ie under bow/stern ar directly underneath boat
lonja

Teepee