Deer

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
This is my first attempt at using Photoshop to alter a picture. All comments/constructive criticism welcome.

Original pic (cropped):
2960956133_811952bc1f.jpg

Edited pic:
2960982859_cf97bb3b7b.jpg

scanker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Cardiff, South Wales
First of all, great photo. I thought the shopped version looked a little artificial - too green in the grass. It's possible it's my monitor though - I think all monitors display colours differently.

I had a quick bash myself, and this looks better to me.

deer.jpg

Increased the brightness a little, the contrast a touch and knocked the green down in colour balance a smidgen!

scanker

Aug 15, 2005
Cardiff, South Wales
There are various ways of doing everything in photoshop. I'm still at a fairly basic level, so am not well up on masks etc. I find a quick way to highlight an area like the antlers is to copy the image onto a new layer, lighten the whole layer to the level you want, then erase the bits of the bright layer you don't want, revealing the layer below. You can do it roughly first then use a small eraser or marquee to get detail. hth.

There are various ways of doing everything in photoshop. I'm still at a fairly basic level, so am not well up on masks etc. I find a quick way to highlight an area like the antlers is to copy the image onto a new layer, lighten the whole layer to the level you want, then erase the bits of the bright layer you don't want, revealing the layer below. You can do it roughly first then use a small eraser or marquee to get detail. hth.