Deer

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tommy the cat

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 6, 2007
SHROPSHIRE UK
Well after finally managing to drag myself out of bed this morning , I thought that I would have a little play with tracking and find some of the deer that I have been watching. Anyway walking up a footpath not 50m from the main road I spooked a deer that was in the long grass.
Now I don't normally look in this field as its private land that is fenced in with sheep and cows in the enclosure. Now two points one I forgot how high deer can jump(!) but secondly this was a fallow deer on its own. Now I am new to all this mlarky but this is the first time I have seen deer on their own is this unusual or have I just not seen it b4?
I suppose it could be argued that there could have been more deer hiding but usually I find they will bolt together or quickly in succession.
Another question on this topic I have seen deer 'nesting' in a site that in summer has 4ft bracken and therefore excellent cover for them, obviously this had died right back to 1ft or less so thinking they may not use this site now? Will they just head for the thickest undergrowth? Do they use the same spots for sleeping or just randomly choose?
Ta Dave

Jan 22, 2006
uk
in my experience they do change the spot where they've been lying up during the day, in pretty much the way we would - some are obviously favorites and are used more than others, but they like change as we do and can equally be spontaneous. This is all in the context of a deers territory and following the path of food etc.