dandelion roots

lofthouse31

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 16, 2007
Wiltshire
my garden has a good amount of dandelions i eat the tender leaves already, i wanted some advice on what can be done with the roots and flowers.
Id also be interested to know about the nutritional value.
thanks for any advice

May 14, 2006
Consett County Durham
Hi lofthouse31,
Good plant the old Dandelion, it was cultivated for a time but fell back out of favour IIRC.
The leaves as you know are edible and if older you can boil the bitterness out of them the root can be cooked like parsnip or roasted and ground up as a coffee alternative . . .I admit I was a little stumped about the flower but my bro reminded me that they make a nice wine.

Hope its useful.

Kev

PS.
Have you tried searching the forum on "dandelion"?

http://www.bushcraftuk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18625&highlight=Dandelion

See, always a good idea.

lofthouse31

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 16, 2007
Wiltshire
im new to this interest and even newer to the net and computers, i found the full stop yesterday still baby steps eh.
I must confess im a johnny come lately on the bushcrafting im trying to learn as much as i can.
thanks for the tips.
Im glad i dont bother with weeding now

May 14, 2006
Consett County Durham
Your very welcome lofthouse31,
Well you've come to the best place to learn mate, I'm fairly new myself and have learned loads so far. The people here are brilliant and have a vast collective knowledge but remember there are no Bushcraft "experts" only people who've been doing it for a long time and have learned along the way I think it's fair to say that even the most experienced bushcrafter is still learning so don't worry they've all been there at one point.
A few things you mite want to check out are . . .
The frost Mora knife (also check out the forum on sharpening blades, legalities), is an excellent knife and (rightly) held in high regard by bushcrafters, they're also available for under a tenner!