Crabs/lobsters/shrimps

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Mar 18, 2012
london
Hi all, newbie here so please be gentle, just wanted to ask,
i am of to the Isle of Wight this weekend, made myself a crab/lobster pot out of old freezer shelves from an old freezer (Will post pics if it works, hide in corner if it doesn't) plastic coated so rust proof, pretty sure of bait, stinky old fish for lobster and fresh mackerel for crabs, i have an inflatable canoe to get the pot out there an old buoy from a canal boat and a concrete weight from a washing machine, so should be sorted, i intend to drop pot on an incoming tide so i wont end up in Jersey, BUT, am i wasting my time? i know you can get huge crabs and lobster in Cornwall and moderately small in Cromer, as the Isle of Wight is about halfway between the two i am hoping for medium size, do we have any friends who have been successful?
I hope this is in the right section!!:confused:

Seoras

Mod
Mod
Oct 7, 2004
Bramley, Hampshire
Hi Philllb

Welcome to the forum.

You probably did not get an answer to your question as this is not generally a site for lobster potting. Also you posted up in an area that is a bit quieter than other areas.

Maybe it would be best if you just introduce yourself firsly here

http://www.bushcraftuk.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15

This part of the site is regularly viewed and if you mention what you do you will get an answer maybe.

Good luck

George

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
Don't know what your chances are there but the bait is reversed over here. Stinky bait (old chicken or guts, etc.) for crabs. Lobsters (the clawless Florida Lobster) is protected here and even when they were legal you could only take them by hand while diving/snorkeling so I really don't know what attracts them.

ebt.

Nomad