Coppicing - Greenwood Crafts/Timber Production

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

THOaken

Native
Jan 21, 2013
England(Scottish Native)
Hello all. Haven't been BCUK in a long time.

I'm currently writing a coppice systems assignment but with an emphasis on timber production for greenwood crafts. I'm wondering if anyone has any more in-depth information on this subject regarding the science of coppicing, stool densities and so forth. Perhaps we could strike up a conversation on coppice management, discuss simple, mixed or standards coppicing and their pros and cons? What do you think?

Cheers.

Dave

Hill Dweller
Sep 17, 2003
Brigantia
Hi Thoaken, Im no expert, [my grandad was, and I wish I paid attention] but I do have a few books, if you have any specific questions.
A decent book is the encyclopedia of green woodworking by Raymond Tabor.
https://www.bodgers.org.uk/BB/viewforum.php?f=18 is a great resource too.

How about for starters, for hurdle making cut willow in january before the sap rises. Always cut upwards toward yourself, which is why pruning and billhooks are shaped thus.

When Mears etc bend the willow and cut down, to make withies, the stem will always split. This is the wrong way to go about coppicing.

Last edited:

Stew

Bushcrafter through and through
Nov 29, 2003
Aylesbury
stewartjlight-knives.com
Hi Thoaken, Im no expert, [my grandad was, and I wish I paid attention] but I do have a few books, if you have any specific questions.

How about for starters, for hurdle making cut willow in january before the sap rises. Always cut upwards toward yourself, which is why pruning and billhooks are shaped thus.

When Mears etc bend the willow and cut down, to make withies, the stem will always split. This is the wrong way to go about coppicing.