Contacting tree surgeons

THOaken

Native
Jan 21, 2013
England(Scottish Native)
How would one go about asking in the right way to obtain greenwood? I phoned a local tree surgery company and told them that I was a hobbyist woodcrafter and was looking to procure greenwood for projects, but this particular company just gives the wood to people with log fires.

Last edited:

demographic

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 15, 2005
-------------
Try to arrange it so they know that saving you choice bits of wood is as effortless as possible for them. Last thing they want to do is taking bits of wood to your home and making nothing on it.
Plus, any tree surgeon with the chance will have a log fire himself, no way he wants to cut wood all day themn come home and pay to heat his (or her) house. A few quid here and there for burrs would help them hand it over.

Hello all,
just keep your eyes and ears open for any tree cutting that's going on. Ask if you can have a few bits. Has worked for me. Just make shure that you are visable, you don't want to sneak up on someone that's using a chainsaw. All I say is that I do a bit of wood carving, that seems to get their interest and they are happy to let you have a few bits. Good luck.
Regards Chris.

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales