Complete Newbie

bluey1610

Apr 30, 2012
uk
Hi, I'm totally new to camping cookery and it's just me and my husband, mainly going to hopefully be one pot cooking but no idea which stove to buy, would like a twig or natural fuel burner as oposed to gas or alcohol and was looking at the kk but not sure how effective or practical it will be for cooking over? please help! thank you!

Dogoak

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 24, 2009
Cairngorms
Welcome to BCUK, use the search facility and you will find masses of info, enjoy.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Hello :) and welcome to the forum :D

You'll get loads of opinions about stoves :)

I have the kelly kettle, and it's base and grill kit too.
It's very good, but......and it's a fairly big but, it's bulky. Fine for car camping, great for a settled camp, brilliant for a day's work party sort of thing, but it's a clunker of a thing to lug around.
I find the glowing embers in the base after a boil up of the kettle are excellent to cook on. The heat eventually distorts the base a bit, but pretty is as pretty does. It still works.
Keeping the bits and pieces inside the chimney is a dreadful idea; it just leaves everything really filthy to handle.

I don't have the top heat spreader bit for cooking on. I know me, and I know the places where I use the kettle, it just looks like an invitation to coup over to me. That said, other folks swear by them.

One pot, easy to use, no fuss, no bother ? Have a search here for Hobo stoves :D I can do three courses on mine :D

cheers,
Toddy

ged

Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
Welcome to BCUK!

Like Mary (Toddy) I use a twig kettle. There are several threads here about them. Use a search engine with a search something like

"kelly kettle site:bushcraftuk.com"

or

"ghillie site:bushcraftuk.com"