Carbon monoxide alarm positioning...

Sep 12, 2012
Oxfordshire
Hello all,

New to the site and need some advice so thought I'd ask the experts...

We've got a 4m bell tent and I've just bitten the bullet and got a frontier stove or added warmth now the nights are getting colder and shorter. I've got the lash kit etc but thought I'd get a CO alarm just to be safe...question is where's the best place for it? Above the stove? By our bedding?

All help gratefully received...

crosslandkelly

Jun 9, 2009
North West London
Hi, welcome and enjoy.

As to your to your question. I am no expert, but I would have thought that there was plenty of ventilation in your bell tent, and the flue would be outside the tent venting the CO safely outside. You could put the alarm near the stove as that is where the CO will come from.

Retired Member southey

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jun 4, 2006
your house!
Do not put it next to the stove as it will emitt small amounts of co as it starts up, wall of the tent above head height if sat in a chair in the tent, co emitted from the stove will be war, and rise, the detector needs to be place so as to trigger to give you enough time to wake up and vent out. But not so high as to be triggered by gas jut vent from the top. Imo

Expat

Forager
Feb 9, 2012
Dorset for good...!!
As CO2 builds from the ground up, the detector should be a fair way from the stove, but lower than the position of your head while sleeping.....
In other words, it should wake you BEFORE you start breathing the fumes, or you might never hear the alarm..... :(

stuey

Sep 13, 2011
High Peak
www.arb-tek.co.uk
Carbon monoxide is lighter than air. On this basis the detector would be ideally positioned, in my opinion, slightly above head height when sat in your usual seat. That way you get an early warning when sat relaxing in your chair of an evening and an even earlier warning when asleep.