BRKT Mikro Slither Review

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

sam_acw

Native
Sep 2, 2005
Tyneside
Ok, in this article I’m going to be looking at the merits of the Bark River Mikro Slither . This is a knife which I consider to be a true pocket knife in that they will fit in a trouser pocket without causing your trousers to fall down. It is the sort you could carry on you when you are out on a bimble without terrifying the natives when you use it (as long as you have good reason and obey the laws etc.)
I’d also like to point out that I’m no knife expert of bush craft wizard. Those of you who are probably have your own opinions and those of you like me can probably benefit from hearing about my views and mistakes.

What am I doing it with?

The knife on trial is the Bark River Mikro Slither#. The data for this knife says it has a blade length of 1.75 inches and an overall length of 4 inches. Mine came with a leather pocket sheath and antique ivory handles and was around £35 via E-Bay. This knife has an unusual blade shape and is flat ground all the way across the blade. It is a fixed blade.

The Tasks
The tasks involved may not be your standard tests as either they are things either I don’t find useful, simply don’t have the skill to do or can’t do for practical or legal reasons. The tasks attempted are either my own ideas, borrowed from other reviewers or suggested by the community at bushcraftuk. I’ll try to give credit for ideas where I can. I shall not be chopping breeze blocks, large trees or skinning buffalo as these aren’t realistic tasks for these (and in some cases any) knives. Also I shan’t be skinning or butchering any animals which didn’t come from the supermarket as firstly I neither hunt nor fish and secondly I am writing this in mid summer which is out of season for lots of those things.