Bouyancy Aid or Lifejacket

boatman

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 20, 2007
Cornwall
I only ever wear a bouyancy aid because I can swim in it. It doesn't hamper self-rescue and protects the upper body while adding a bit of warmth. The value of the lifejacket is claimed to be that it keeps the body with the face up out of the water but there are instances of people drowning because they were held in that position and unable to avoid waves breaking over their faces. Never having worn a lifejacket in the water I have no personal experience of them so comments from those that have would be welcome.

referring to the tragedy that prompted this post I don't quite see how you can be face down in the water wearing a bouyancy aid that provides bouyancy all round the body much as does a rubber ring.

Nov 29, 2004
Scotland
"...referring to the tragedy that prompted this post I don't quite see how you can be face down in the water wearing a bouyancy aid that provides bouyancy all round the body much as does a rubber ring..."

Was the lifejacket sized for a child? Was it a lifejacket or a bouyancy aid? Was it fitted properly? Time will tell I suppose. A great tragedy for the family and those who knew them.

resnikov

The Luftwaffe had a life jacket at the start of the war that was inflated all around the body, the problem was an unconscious pilot head would slump forward in to the water and they would drown. Later versions had no inflation bit at the back so they would float on their back and keep the head out of the water.

Not sure if this is what happened in the recent incident but it could have been.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk 2

shaggystu

Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire
....I don't quite see how you can be face down in the water wearing a bouyancy aid that provides bouyancy all round the body much as does a rubber ring.

well that's just the point isn't it, there's bouyancy all round, you can float any way up with equal ease