blade thickness?

novembeRain

Nomad
Sep 23, 2008
lincoln
I'm going to have a go at knife making, probably mild steel but maybe stainless because it's that bit tougher (without doing anything to it). I used to work as a welder / fabricator and one of my ex-colleagues has agreed to get me a bit of steel. What thickness would you go for? Some of Bernie's look to be about 5mm if not 6! Is that the thickness I should consider?

Also, I'm off out in the next couple of days and have come up with a bit of a plan regarding a knife just for the night. I'm thinking along the lines of getting a kichen knife, Asda's do one for about £3 and cutting / shaping the blade as a "make do" bushcraft knife, The steel's about 2.5 - 3mm thick and the handle looks reasonably comfortable and strong (full tang), you think it'll handle a night's bushcraft?

rancid badger

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
3mm is plenty-4mm is a bit thick and anything over that is too heavy and thick for a simple working knife

For your trip:
Why not just get a Mora?
you could have it before the weekend,I bought a stainless one a few months back as a canoe trip tool, it would definitely do the job and also act as a pattern for your diy project.

Saying that, I can't remember where I got the damn thing from now:confused: :eek: I do remeber it was delivered next day at no extra cost.

Just an idea anyway
best wishes
R.B.

novembeRain

Nomad
Sep 23, 2008
lincoln
To be honest, I was thinking of going tomorow and didn't think I'd have it in time.

Also, all the materials to make one would be free to me and I should be able to make a good enough job of it - so why pay!?

I've found Two hardwoods in the garage, mahogony and what I think is Beech (it's hard and pinkish) for the scales, would either be better than the other?

Do you NEED the spacers between scale and blade? or is it a decorative thing?