Blade heat treating

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Markkdw

Aug 5, 2018
Stockton on tees
Hi, I'm just getting into knife making and am wondering if anyone on here knows where I can get my blades hardened and tempered please. With me just starting and focussing on stock removal and not forging I don't really have the equipment to perform this myself but would obviously like to ensure the process is completed correctly. I have performed a Google search for heat treating companies but can only really find large scale industrial companies who I'm sure wouldn't be interested in treating a couple of blades.
Thanks

Mark

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
Try some of the knife makers on here.

I'm pretty sure you'd be able to come to a suitable arrangement with one of them to get your blades treated

Peter Eaton

Jan 17, 2018
Dorset
Hi Mark
What steel are you using, if 01 why not try to do it yourself? Its not difficult and you will learn as you do it. You just need to make a small HT oven, even a few thermolite blocks can be used, a blow lamp, a magnet and some cooking oil.

I get my blanks cut now and heat treated in bulk and so grind the steel in the fully hardened state but this is expensive and of course you need a decent linisher and ceramic belts when using hardened steel.

You could also ask Shing Chan as he is doing some Damascus steel I the future for me and will do single blades.

https://shingcrafts.weebly.com/

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk
As Peter says it's possible to do this yourself with a blowtorch; it's not as accurate as using a kiln but does the job; there are plenty of videos and articles on how to get to the right temperature.