Blacksmithing? Buying/Making Steel for knifes...

Nov 15, 2012
East Sussex
im new to this (as in never physically done it but ive read up) so dont hate me too much! and please tell me if im completely wrong!

ok so iv been looking at various websites for CHEAP (blade making quality) steel flats but have found nothing so far in my price range just mild steel from Ebay...im on a real budget and am wanting to do this as a little project for now...I have no tools but plan on getting a small anvil/something to hit on (lol) and a hammer and then if all goes to plan, making the rest! i will also buy /make charcoal so all that leaves me with to get is the actual steel for the blade.

So this is where im stuck and looking for a little guidance (im fed up of getting the same page results off google :) and am looking for a "real" person to answer my questions!) from anybody with some knowledge on the subject...so heres where im at:

1. Save and buy some carbon steel flats (maybe but i dont really want to sink as much money as people are asking for them... more out of principle then anything else!). Q: Does anyone know any CHEAP sites...ive checked the ones most people recommend althought the posts for these were quite old.

2. Make the steel from scratch (yes i know a lot of you may be laughing at this point but to be honest i'd love to learn how to do it!) by buying iron oxide (is this right?), making a bloom and then the flat bar from that. Q: buy doing this in a charcoal furnace is this adding carbon to the iron?

3. Buy the mild steel from ebay and making it harder and into high carbon steel by blistering it (i am right with this yes?!) then hammering pieces together, ending up with a carbon steel flat! Q: This is what was done in the old days, combined with the above method, am i correct?