Bivvy in October

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Nearwild

Jun 21, 2016
havant
Hi all, I'm doing a tracking course next month, and am thinking about a low profile sleeping set up with the hope of spying on some wildlife. I've never used a bivvy before, and am being so indecisive about it, it's bordering on the ridiculous!

So, in general would you recommend a bivvy set up in October? If so, what's the best for ground insulation, bearing in mind I have to walk in so am trying to stay as light as possible. Are they really any better than just a tarp on the ground? Thanks!

decorum

May 2, 2007
Warwickshire
attachment.php
attachment.php

Insulate yourself from cold and you'll be fine :D

The kip mat used in the two pics is what I'd use year round ~ I don't own a super insulated job ;)

Leshy

Jun 14, 2016
Wiltshire
attachment.php
attachment.php

Insulate yourself from cold and you'll be fine :D

The kip mat used in the two pics is what I'd use year round ~ I don't own a super insulated job ;)
Decorum, what's that tipi style tent in the second pic? Is that the poncho polish lavvu thingamajig?
Cheers

Leshy

Jun 14, 2016
Wiltshire
Looks like the same tarp taken from the rear
I hope you're wrong , just so i dont feel so stupid...😒

Yup , OK . Maybe I'm really that stupid .
😞
Hey! Look a squirrel....
😀
...come on, move along everybody... Nothing to see here...
😒

Bishop

Jan 25, 2014
Pencader
Definitely one of the thicker foam camping mats rather than the £3.49 ones at Argos.
But remember you're bushcrafting not camping so make time to make bed, even if it's only piling up some leaves to kip on.

wicca

Native
Oct 19, 2008
South Coast
" Insulate yourself from cold and you'll be fine ".... Exactly that..
respect-048.gif