Bivi up forcast -4

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Barney

Settler
Aug 15, 2008
Lancashire
Me and Andywinkk are going out on a Bivi up tomorrow night, the forcast is -4 and dry.

I have never done this cold before "open air" any tips for the uninitiated? We are not planning on taking tons of gear as its a 2 mile walk in. what should be our priorities?

I have four so far
1. Axe
2. Firesteel
3. 9" cooking pot.
4. Bivi bag

andy_e

Native
Aug 22, 2007
Scotland
Warm sleeping bag, hat and dry socks for sleeping in.

A folding/bow-saw might be more useful than an axe.

nigeltm

Aug 8, 2008
south Wales
Is the forecast for wind? If it is and you can't find a sheltered location a tarp windbreak could help. Windchill is a bugger!

Also consider an extra lighweight layer to wear in your gonk bag. Every little helps, even if it is only an extra t-shirt and a pair of lightweight tracksuit bottoms.

Just realised you haven't mentioned a kip mat?

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Just keep warm and dry Wayne and everything else should take care of itself. Take plenty of layers and a good doss bag and insulation.

And don`t forget the brandy

sapper1

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 3, 2008
swansea
Jog on the spot for 5 minutes before getting in your sleeping bag.The bag doesn't warm you up it just keeps you warm,jogging gets you warm before you get in.

Sniper

Native
Aug 3, 2008
Saltcoats, Ayrshire