Best British fire lighting woods

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Swan

Mar 8, 2006
Hampshire
www.instagram.com
This is the first time i have posted a thread so just thought i'd say hello to all you fellow bushcrafters out there.

I'm a fairly amateur bushcrafter and have recently begun to experiment with the bow-drill and long-drill fire lighting techniques, which i have really enjoyed. But also quite successfully, completely knackered myself out on.

Can anyone reccommend the best woods (to be found in british woodlands) to use for these techniques? I understand that you should use hard wood for the drill, and soft wood for the plate you drill into, but what kinds are best?

Thanks for your time.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Hi Swan - well done for breaking your duck.

As a rule you should try and use the same wood for the drill and the hearth although this isn`t always true.

A couple of easy to find ones are Hazel, Birch, Sycamore (very good), Alder, Lime and Willow. Try and find some which is dead standing and not too soft.

Good luck and keep trying

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
Hi Swan, I've got some useful info on fire lighting and tree identification which i'd be more than happy to forward to you.

Best to PM over your email Gray :)
Stops the SPAM scumbags gettin hold of your address using webcrawlers n such, damn their bits to a firery place ! ;)

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!