Bergans Lavvo S - 4/6 Man Tipi Tent and Frontier Wood Burning Camp Stove

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 27, 2008
Cambridge
Bergans Lavvo S - 4/6 Man Tipi Tent - http://www.raymears.com/Bushcraft_Product/927-Bergans-Lavvo-S-4-6-Man-Tipi-Tent/

Frontier Wood Burning Camp Stove - http://wildstoves.co.uk/new-products/frontier-stove/

Hi,

Does anyone have experience with these as I am thinking of making a purchase?
Do I need a flashing kit or can I just run it out the top? What do other Tipi/Lavvu owners do? As far as I can tell I can either have the stove in the centre of the tent and run it out the top or have a flash kit and run it towards the side of the tent.

Any advice appreciated as I have no experience with either.

coln18

Native
Aug 10, 2009
Loch Lomond, Scotland
Hi mate, i've got the bigger Bergans Lavvu and use the frontier stove with it. It's best to run the stove pipe through the top of the lavvu. i use a fire tape that i've wrapped round one and half sections of flue and never had any bother with it.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Stove-Gla...Rope-Black-Flat-Woven-Rope-Seal-/140877019646

As i say, i've had the Bergans teepee for over a year now, but have used it at least 20-30 nights out with the stove running no problem. the frontier stove is a great wee stove for the money, it's only downside is that the paint flakes of it quite easily and it starts to rust, but it's not a problem,a quick wire brush from time to time and a can of stove paint from somewhere like halfrauds for £8 and it's as good as new.

Feb 27, 2008
Cambridge
Does it need lots of layers for the tape? Can the stove do a night burn without a refil? I was concerned that it would be hungry and need a feed every five min. Does it warm up the tent real well?