Basic Trout Recipe

Hi all
I am after some nice and easy recipes for trout,
Nothing too fancy to start with as i am a novice when it comes to cooking fish.
I shall be cooking them in a kitchen first to make sure i know what i am doing before i try n get clever over an open fire.
all suggestions and hints gratefully recieved.
Cheers
Sam

sapper1

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 3, 2008
swansea
Place them whole but gutted on a large piece of foil,sprinkle with sliced almonds arub of butter and a sprinkle of lemon juice add a sprig of parsley,wrap in the foil and cook in a medium oven for 15-20 minutes depending on size of fish, generally 6oz.

If the fish are REALLY fresh (ie. still stiff, or even better, before they go stiff), then IMHO it's a shame to do anything too complicated with such a fantastic fresh natural ingredient.
After gutting, just fry them gently in a little butter, add a little salt and fresh ground black pepper, and eat with some nice bread.

Adze

Native
Oct 9, 2009
Cumbria
www.adamhughes.net
If it's a stocked or store bought rainbow trout (read as pellet fed farmed trout) then either brine it for an hour before cooking it or scour the insides out with some coarse sea salt. If it's a naturalized or wild fish you'll likely not need to do that as it won't be carrying much fat compared to the farmed fish.

This is what I ususally do with reservoir caught rainbows of around 2lbs cooking times will vary a little depending on how large or small your cach is.

Grate the zest off a lemon and quarter the remains of the fruit - place the lemon (minus zest) into the cavity of the fish with a bay leaf and a little black pepper - wrap with foil and cook in a medium oven for 20 to 25 minutes, open the foil for the last five minutes and sprinkle the lemon zest over the trout.

Cheers,

Bushwhacker

Banned
Jun 26, 2008
Dorset
Hot pan, tiny bit of oil.
Put fillet skin side down, bit of seasoning.
Press down onto pan.