Anyone here have and exotic pets

Dannytsg

Native
Oct 18, 2008
England
So I find myself in the position at the moment with the offer of getting a Blue and Gold Macaw. I love the thought of having one and this one has been reared from being young in and around a family environment. I have some previous experience with birds but the biggest bird I have had in the house is a few cockatiels.

Just wondering if anyone else has any exotic pets * not just limited to birds * and the stories behind them.

Andy BB

Apr 19, 2010
Hampshire
Does having a house full of tarantula (ae?), scorpions, bearded dragons and other assorted lizards, and various rat-like creatures with and without tails - count?

Personally I have nothing to do with them - prefer the dog and cats!

Hammock Hamster

Feb 17, 2012
Kent
I have a couple of bearded dragons however since getting the cats they are now relegated to living in their vivariums (prior to this they had the run of the living room when we were home) which i think is a bit unfair on them so may be looking to find them a good home in the future.

As they love body heat they come accross as affectionate and are great for kids as out of all the reptiles i have had they are the most docile, love being handled and have never tried to bite/scratch etc...
Theyre also bigger and not as fast as gheckos so not as easily lost or, in the case of kids, squashed! :)

bohXI

Jul 16, 2012
Kettering
I used to have and Green Iguana called Ryu

I saw him in a Focus / Do-It-All pet centre.He was timid and a dull grey colour - healthy specimens should be a bright green so I took pity and bought him there and then - if anything to save his life.
After arguing with the staff about what to feed him (Green Iguanas should not eat animal protein) :argue: I took him home and cared for him for 6 years where he grew to 5'9" and lived in my parents conservatory - much to their delight :naughty: until I had to go to uni.