A few questions on stropping

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Sawyer

Tenderfoot
Oct 20, 2010
somewhere
My knife has sliced so many cuts of wood now that I thought I need to get into this stropping business. I've sharpened with japanese waterstones, but want to check a few things regarding stropping.

I've stuck down a piece of soft leather to a board. Is this okay to use? Does it matter what the leather type is? Should I use WD40 on it? How often should I strop compared to using the stones? How long do you strop for and how often

Sorry for the basic Qs, I'm new to all this!

Thanks.

sasquatch

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2008
Northampton
Use Autosol on it if you can, or even toothpaste. You shouldn't need your stones again until you damage the blade. Strop before heavy use and it should be razor sharp pretty much all the time. I strop my knife before a weekend of bushcrafting to know it's sharp and I'll give it a quick strop when I get back. Stones take steel off the edge, a strop doesn't...

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
I use one of the sets that Warthog1981 makes :)
A bit of stropping compound will last an awful long time and it makes an excellent job of keeping my knives in good order.
50 to 100 strokes before I put the knife away; every time :D
I only sharpen now if I've got a nick or ping in the edge of the blade........come to think on it, the last time was months ago and that was an axe that had been used at the Moot where the sand gets everywhere, even on the chopping blocks.

I drag (trail the sharp edge) the knife along the stop, backwards and forwards.
The board means that the strop is always flat so there's less likelihood of creating a curve to the bevels.

cheers,
Toddy

robin wood

Oct 29, 2007
derbyshire
www.robin-wood.co.uk