80th Birthday celebration suggestions, please. Update.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

oldtimer

Sep 27, 2005
Oxfordshire and Pyrenees-Orientales, France
Now, if we did have a thread for the old, this could be posted there. However....

In one month's time, Madame will be 80 years old.

I started thinking about some sort of celebration back in January as we usually mark the decades with something more than the usual family meal and birthday cake with candles but she told me that she didn't want a big party like she had for her 70th when we took over the village pub for the night. Just as well given the current lockdown!

"I'd like to do something I've never done before," she told me. But it's a bit difficult to come up with something new after 58 years of a fairly full life together. A bungee jump was not taken seriously; parachute jump or hang-glider trip considered, but rejected on grounds of her osteoporosis: meal and night at Manoir a Quatre Saisons rejected on grounds of dietary problems: trip up the Norwegian fjords, too expensive; week in Rome, ditto. Some other early ideas such as a hot air balloon trip and a half day tour on the pillion of a chauffeur ridden Harley Davidson with full leathers included got a warmer response as she recalled the course of horse riding lessons she got for her 60th.

All such possibilities are off, obviously and because, of our age, we are self isolating in an effort to avoid doing the one thing she has NOT done before and intends to delay as long as possible!

Given that we are still likely to be stuck at home throughout May, if anyone has any suggestions for making her day special I should really like to hear them. PLEASE!