tarp knot

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tommy the cat

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 6, 2007
SHROPSHIRE UK
Well I know I am gonna sound thick but I need help !!!!!!!
http://www.outdooridiots.com/features/200606/pitchingatarp/pitchingatarp4.asp
Got the first slip knot sorted but get stuck on the taut line, get as far as the second bite and dont understand which way the bite is pulled through the first bite?
Also which ever way I try it when I push the knot towards the tree the slack that was held in my right hand seems to be taken up thus slackening the tarp line?
It seems to me that the knot needs to be pushed away from the tree in order to keep the ridge line tight!!! Its slowly driving me mad! Sorry about being thick but I am a newbie.
Tommy :banghead:

Eric_Methven

Apr 20, 2005
Durham City, County Durham
I can only suggest using a prusik knot to take up the slack. It's what i use and it works every time. The prusik knot is a sliding friction knot. It moves freely on the line but grips tight when under tension. It was developed as a means of self rescue from cravasses. You slide it up the rope, then put your weight on it and it grips, then you slide another further up the rope and it grips. When you take your weight off the first one, you can slide it up the rope again, and so on until you're out of the cravass. The same knot can be used for tensioning tarp lines, tightening rope bridges and a myriad of other bushcrafty uses.

http://www.chockstone.org/TechTips/prusik.htm

Eric

tommy the cat

Feb 6, 2007
SHROPSHIRE UK