Help with Identification please!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Blackthorn

Feb 2, 2006
Ireland
Picture14.jpg
Picture4.jpg
Mushroom1.jpg
PineResin.jpg

Folks,

Can anyone give me any ideas as to what this Mushroom is? I hope the picture links actually work, its my first time trying this.

I also have attached a picture of what i think is either pine resin or dried sap. I just found it as displayed ( semi hard gooey ball) at the bottom of a tree. Its definetly pine something as it smells very strongly of pine.

Can anyone tell me if this is pine sap or resin. I imagine that resin is really just a hardened piece of sap anyway. But maybe im wrong.

Any help would be appreciated.

Blackthorn

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Hi Blackthorn,
Sorry to say that I can't help with the mushroom identification as I'm only just starting out on that path myself. The more experienced however might want to know where it was found, tree species or type of surrounding area etc as the host often dictates the fungi that grow on it. Possibly could be a beefsteak fungus :confused:
As far as the sap/resin goes, if it smells so strongly of pine, then that is what it is. Wait until later in the year and when you find some more - of the hardened stuff that is. Amaze your friends by chipping a bit off the tree and popping it into your mouth as a natural chewing gum. It does tend to go through a powdery stage before it actually gets chewy, but it's not unpleasant. ;)
You can also use it in the making of a natural glue strengthened with charcoal.

ATB

Ogri the trog

Ahjno

Vice-Adminral
Admin
Aug 9, 2004
Rotterdam (NL)
www.bushcraftuk.com
Hi Blackthorn,

Nice mushroom you've got there ;)