First Sleeping bag

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Greenbeast

Tenderfoot
Sep 21, 2009
Northiam, East Sussex
I'm new to this, just had a reintroduction to camping recently and loved it (it was wild camping as i'm lucky enough to have parents with a little land)

I borrowed gear at the time but i'm starting to put together a kit, i've acquired some utensil drainers for hobo stove experiments and a free 70l ruck sack, i'm now looking at getting a sleeping bag.

I'd like the option of camping throughtout most of the year, my friends may not be up for it but i figure/hope i may end up at meets/get togethers with BCUK members.

What are you recommendations?
I've seen the issue bags mentioned a few times and i'm watching a few on ebay, do i go for the jungle or arctic variety? what's a good amount to spend?

Is it silly to get a great cold weather bag if i intend to use hammock/tarp and may need alternative means of keeping warm (underblanket/coccoon???)?

Thanks for any advice!

Andy2112

On a new journey
Jan 4, 2007
West Midlands
I've got a 58 pattern issue bag for £30 from my local surplus place, well worth the money. For summer use i use the issue jungle bag which was £30. The jungle bag will NOT be warm enough in the winter. I used mine last month but inside a bivvi bag and felt slightly cool in it and i sleep hot tbh.

HTH

Andy

Bushwhacker

Banned
Jun 26, 2008
Dorset
I've got an Arctic issue bag with goretex bivvy and for summer just a cheapy thin one with stuffbag. Sometimes I don't even bother with a bag in the summer.

johnboy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 2, 2003
Hamilton NZ
www.facebook.com
Hello Greenbeast,

Welcome to the forum,