Fire Pistons?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
Got one for reviewing :biggthump It should be up on the site in a couple of weeks. Seems quite good so far, although I have a couple of niggles! But I don't want to spoil the read.

Ed

Admin
Admin
Aug 27, 2003
South Wales Valleys
Can't wait for the review :-D I've been building fire pistons for about 2 years now with some success (my first took about 20 whacks to get the char lit) and I love em.
I'd be interested to know what niggles you have as I'm always trying to improve the designs.
Thanks for the link Martyn..... cor I wish the ones I made looked like that... mine always come out ugly but functional.

Ed :-o

Matt

Tenderfoot
Jul 31, 2003
Whoa those are a bit sexy...and costly! Hmm I wonder if I can knock one up on the pole lathe.... :lol:

What materials do you use Ed?

Ed

Admin
Admin
Aug 27, 2003
South Wales Valleys
Bamboo is my current fave :-D and any hardwood piston like the one here http://www.geocities.com/ResearchTriangle/System/5102/
I have had some success with lathes using yew and ebony, but the bore has to be straight and smooth (I use lard to grease it). For my first one I turned the knob with the piston on it, but broke the piston so now I make the piston seperate so if it brakes I can just drill it out and replace it.
They can be even made from plastic tubing :-D see here http://wmuma.com/tracker/skills/fire/firepiston/firepiston2Ron.html
For an idea of size see here http://www.onagocag.com/piston.html
The best wooden pistons I've made have been made from well seasoned thin privit (sp?) hedge branches, sanded down by hand to form the piston, and drill a small hole in the end for the tinder.
have fun with these

Ed

Ed

Admin
Admin
Aug 27, 2003
South Wales Valleys