Big cat paw print identification in Fife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

leon-1

That's a pretty terrible cast / picture to work from.

I am no expert so this can be taken with a pinch of salt, Leopards prints are approx 10cm / 4 inches in length, if you hold your palm up and measure it you will find it is around 3.5 - 4 inches for an adult male, so the size of the print in comparison to the policemans hand would be consistent.

Leopards prints are also supposed to be round and the general shape of the print is round, you can make out the toe (digital) pads, but not with a lot of definition. The intermediate (palmar/plantar) pads are not easy to distinguish in good detail, this is unfortunate becuase this is one of the major things that would distinguish this as being a cat (large or small) for me.

soryy for the terminology, I have been overdosing on Bang & Dahlstrom, Chris & Stuart Tilde and Leiberman recently:eek:

Marts

Native
May 5, 2005
London
Don't apologise for the terminology - I think we need more of this stuff on the tracking forum. I'm going to be delving into my tracking books this evening, but like you say it's a pretty poor quality image to work from.
:)

Marts

Native
May 5, 2005
London
I've been searching all over but haven't found any image larger that 13k. I've dropped an e-mail to the BBC, but i'm not going to hold my breath as they've never replied to any of the otehr e-mails I've sent them :(

Fallow Way

Nomad
Nov 28, 2003
Staffordshire, Cannock Chase
it would be difficult for 99% of trackers to tell you, not because of the picture quality etc, but because as with any other subject, you can only advise on what you know, and looking at prints in a book just doesnt cut it, the only poeple that could advise you are those trackers that have touched the print of that sort of animal