Working with Antler

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Muddypaws

Jan 23, 2009
Southampton
I was recently lucky enough to acquire a small Roe deer antler, found by one of my dog walking friends in a local park. It isn't big enough to make a whole knife handle, so I intend to cut it up to make bolsters and spacers for various handling projects. However, I have never worked with antler before, so I am seeking advice on how to work it and how to finish it, and any other things that I should bear in mind before I start.

I look forward to reading your responses.

Clouston98

Woodsman & Beekeeper
Aug 19, 2013
Cumbria
Antler has a hard outer layer and a softer marrow like inner, which is a dark brown/black In Colour, it is easy to saw up with a hack saw, and I made plent do nice things with it from catapults, pace beads and buttons. It's easy enough to make the holes with an awl and a hammer, so great for knife bolsters. You can carve the outer with a sharp knife, so you can bevel the edges etc. You can sand it easily on the rough ends where it has been cut, and the antler already has a lovely smooth outer. It's a great material to work with, I love it! Good luck with your projects mate, hope this helps! :)

Perrari

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 21, 2012
Eryri (Snowdonia)
www.erknives.com
Works really well with files & sandpaper, it is relatively easy to get a good finish working your way through the grits. If you have a belt grinder then wear a mask as the dust isn't good for you, and it does stink a bit as well. Good luck !

Muddypaws

Jan 23, 2009
Southampton
Thanks for the tips! I do seem to vaguely remember reading something about the dust being bad for you, so a dust mask it is, even though I shall be going easy with hand tools.