Working for the Forestry Commision.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

lostplanet

Aug 18, 2005
Kent
I am going down the road of applying for a job with the FC as a Forest Craftsperson.

It's a really big decision to make as i will have to move from Kent to Norfolk where my Girlfriend lives.
I have no experience of Forestry/Arboriculture but i have had many pratical hands-on jobs over the years which allows me to adapt quickly to most situations.

I am 37 years old so this will probably be my last job until retirement.
Can anyone explain what it's really like working at the FC and what day to day life is like.
Next time i'm up in Norfolk i will call in to the Santon Downham office to get my face known and try and get a feel for the organsiation.
I have looked at courses for Lantra/NTPC chainsaw and pesticides which the job description said would be beneficial and am currently looking into
getting these done.

Any advice, tips or info will be greatly appreciated and I can spell commission but not all the time.

Jason

law

Tenderfoot
Feb 19, 2005
north wales
hi mate i applied for a position in the fc a few years ago the application form is/was very long winded wanted to know loads of info situations relevent to the job your applying for big full right ups descriptions etc i would defo get your basic chainsaw and pesticides certificates plus firstaid to be evan shortlisted dont let this put you off just really sale yourself but but dont lie on your cv they will check hope this helps

huntersforge

Oct 14, 2006
southern scotland
Hi Lostplanet ,
Dont want to p!ss on your fire mate but working for the Forestry commission is not all its cracked up to be , I was a wildlife ranger with them for 4 years .