Will a 50l bag be enough? (new member)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Mar 26, 2013
London
Hey guys I'm new to the camping/fishing scene but in the summer me and a friend have decided to do just that, travelling around england. We are looking to go for around 2-3 weeks and was wondering will a 50l bag such as the Northface alteo 50l be able to hold a sleeping bag, some food, clothing and other essentials. I don't want to take too much and just want to hold what I need. Also I have a question, what is that thing i always see on the bottom of peoples back packs. They tie it on with a string and its rolled up? Is that the sleeping bag?

anyway sorry if these are really noob questions, I am new to all of this

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
It all depends on how bulky your items are Joshua, a summer rated bag should be a small package, what will you do about shelter?

The item you see on the bottom of packs sounds like a sleeping mat, probably a foam one which can handle getting wet if it rains. I prefer to slip mine inside an empty pack and then stuff everything else within that tube.

crosslandkelly

Jun 9, 2009
North West London
Hi,Welcome to the forum. For 2 - 3 weeks you're going to get a few different weather conditions. Wet Gear, Dry gear, Warm gear. Something to sleep in, something to sleep under. Bivvi and tarp, tarp and hammock, or small tent. Cook set, wash kit, food and water. Do you know anyone who can lend you a large rucksack. just so you can try packing a selection of gear and get the feel of what you might need. :)

Jul 30, 2012
westmidlands
dear joshua,

really the size doesn't matter, it's what you do with it, honest. Everyone has this at sometime "Is it worth carrying a heavier bag"